P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting  

Go Back   P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting > Page-Zone Web Hosting Main Forum > General FAQ > Email

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
AOL is rejecti ng my mail and claiming it is coming from a spamming server
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
Jim
of Page-Zone
Jim will become famous soon enoughJim will become famous soon enough
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,130
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Wauseon, Ohio
Rep Power: 97
My location
AOL is rejecti ng my mail and claiming it is coming from a spamming server - 11-11-2004, 10:51 PM

AOL is rejecti ng my mail and claiming it is coming from a spamming server
What usually happens is someone on our server has their domain email forwarded to their AOL account, they then get a spam and report it to AOL. AOL reads the header with our IP in it and blacklists the ip temporarily. There is nothing we can do about it, but an instant fix is to send the mail out through your ISP's smtp server. This doesn't affect the ability to receive email and is the recommended way to set it up anyway since many ISP's block port 25 or will eventually.


--
Thank You,
Jim Snape
Page-Zone
--
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
kenyon
Registered User
kenyon is on a distinguished road
 
kenyon's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Rep Power: 36
08-31-2005, 10:26 PM

This is happening for me right now. I run a mailman mailing list on my page-zone server and email to AOL just got bounced. This is what it looks like:

Quote:
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mail Delivery System <Mailer-Daemon@serve.wwwroot6.net>
To: MyMailingList-bounces@3cag.org
Date: Wed, 31 Aug 2005 20:13:06 -0500
Subject: Mail delivery failed: returning message to sender
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

MyAOLrecipient@aol.com
SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host mailin-02.mx.aol.com [64.12.138.89]: 554 (RLY:B1) http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rlyb1.html
Oh well... I guess there's nothing I can do but wait for the temporary block to expire.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Zone: Direct Mail to different mail server ldesign General Questions and Comments 2 08-25-2007 08:37 PM
Problems with e-mail on server 8 harveyc General Questions and Comments 2 01-25-2005 01:26 AM
Adding a "Coming Soon" page to new domains. tristarhost General Chat 4 10-28-2004 06:53 PM
e-mail from my server is blocked harveyc General Questions and Comments 1 03-23-2004 06:15 PM
Deleting mail on server allendick General Questions and Comments 2 05-01-2003 12:03 PM


Live Help



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2002 Page-Zone Web Hosting. All rights reserved.
Smilies provided by Crack's Smilies http://www.mysmilies.com