P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting  

Go Back   P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting > Page-Zone Web Hosting Main Forum > General FAQ > General Questions and Comments

General Questions and Comments Post your question or grace us with your knowledge. Posting limited to registered members.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
e-mail from my server is blocked
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
harveyc
Registered User
harveyc is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Join Date: Feb 2003
Rep Power: 38
e-mail from my server is blocked - 03-23-2004, 01:16 PM

I haven't had this problem e-mailing to users at this ISP before, so p-z must have just recently been blocked. How do I got about getting this corrected?

Here's the error message:

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

user@frontier.net
SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<me@mydomain.com> SIZE=2364:
host mx.frontiernet.net [66.133.128.228]: 553 sorry, your mailserver (216.180.241.1xx) is rejected. Reverse DNS queries for your mail server IP fail. See http://postmaster.frontiernet.net.


Also, I don't know if this is related, but I also have Spam Asassin blocking e-mails I've forwarded back to myself. Looking at the IP, I'm guessing it's my ISP that's blocked. Right? I get the following message:

Content analysis details: (6.2 points, 5.0 required)

pts rule name description
---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------
0.2 OFFERS_ETC BODY: Stop the offers, coupons, discounts etc!
3.3 MSGID_FROM_MTA_SHORT Message-Id was added by a relay
0.1 RCVD_IN_SORBS RBL: SORBS: sender is listed in SORBS
[209.142.8.xx listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]
2.5 RCVD_IN_DYNABLOCK RBL: Sent directly from dynamic IP address
[209.142.8.xx listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
TechWeasel
Registered User
TechWeasel will become famous soon enough
 
TechWeasel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Rep Power: 44
03-23-2004, 06:15 PM

Hmm... for starters these are two seperate issues, assuming you use the PZ outgoing mail server instead of your ISP's outgoing mail server.

I assume from the partial IP you've posted that you're on server number 8? If that's the case I don't know why your mail was rejected. The mail would suggest that your mailserver does not have a "reverse DNS" entry set up, but it certainly does - you can check for yourself at: http://www.dnsstuff.com.

Try plugging your _domain_ into the mail test at http://www.dnsreport.com/ and see if it flags anything. It's possible (but not likely) that one of the domain tables on the server might be corrupted.

Have you been getting this message repeatedly or just once?


As to the SpamAssasin question, your ISP's IP has indeed been listed in the Sorbs blacklist as either protecting (or not adequitely safeguarding against abuse by) spammers.

You can get more info by putting your ISP's IP into the search feature at http://dnsbl.sorbs.net

This has nothing to do with PZ, and would need to be discussed between your ISP and the people who maintain the Sorbs listings.


Brad

Deadenddays.com
The Internet's Premiere Weekly Romantic Zombie Soap Opera Comedy Video Series Thing.

Click here to visit Page-Zone's Support Helpdesk
   
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Zone: Direct Mail to different mail server ldesign General Questions and Comments 2 08-25-2007 08:37 PM
Access blocked at CA data center?? kotapress General Questions and Comments 27 07-20-2007 03:39 AM
Mail Server Names anyonewebs General Questions and Comments 3 08-18-2002 01:06 AM


Live Help



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2002 Page-Zone Web Hosting. All rights reserved.
Smilies provided by Crack's Smilies http://www.mysmilies.com