P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting  

Go Back   P.Z. Low Cost CPanel Web Hosting > Page-Zone Web Hosting Main Forum > General FAQ > General Questions and Comments

General Questions and Comments Post your question or grace us with your knowledge. Posting limited to registered members.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Looking for a PZ-compatible ISP
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
labrat
Registered User
labrat is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2003
Rep Power: 0
Looking for a PZ-compatible ISP - 07-27-2004, 10:34 AM

My present ISP (comcast.net) has been added to the blacklists because they use dynamic IP addresses. I can no longer send outgoing email through any of the domains I have hosted on PZ. Does anyone know of an ISP anywhere that is not blacklisted so I can continue using my PZ accounts?
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Looking for a PZ-compatible ISP
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
edwurster
green side up, please!
edwurster will become famous soon enoughedwurster will become famous soon enough
 
edwurster's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 660
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Rep Power: 69
Re: Looking for a PZ-compatible ISP - 07-27-2004, 11:12 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by labrat
My present ISP (comcast.net) has been added to the blacklists because they use dynamic IP addresses. I can no longer send outgoing email through any of the domains I have hosted on PZ. Does anyone know of an ISP anywhere that is not blacklisted so I can continue using my PZ accounts?
I have comcast as ISP. I send mail through P-Z servers, and it works for me.

Do you mean that you use smtp.comcast.net for outgoing, and it no longer works at all? Or are we talking about a limited group of recipients not getting mail (AOL users, e.g.)?


Ed Wurster - sacts92 (old root10)

...CPANEL Docs
......P-Z Server Status
  Send a message via AIM to edwurster  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3 (permalink))
labrat
Registered User
labrat is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2003
Rep Power: 0
07-27-2004, 11:28 AM

Thanks for asking for some clarification (I've been trying to get Comcast to understand what the problem is, but since I can't get past anyone who begins every sentence with "click on start...", I haven't gotten very far).

I have my regular comcast user email account which works fine. However, that is the only account that I can send from anymore. The other email accounts are all hosted on my domains on a PZ server.

I have outlook confgured to send outgoing mail directly to the smtp server associated with that email account (user@comcast.net goes to mail.comcast.net, and user@hosted-at-PZ.com goes to mail.hosted-at-PZ.com).

Previously, everythuing worked fine (for over a year now!). However, in the last few days, a bunch of blacklist services (coordinated at www.njabl.org) added the subnets that comcast uses where I live. Since then, user@comcast.net sends fine, but all my user@hosted-at-PZ.com sends are immediately returned with an error message:
---------------------------------
Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
Subject: [subject]
Sent: 7/26/2004 10:38
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
'[recipient]' on 7/26/2004 10:38
550 X-RBL-Warning: [my comcast-assigned IP] is blocked by combined.njabl.org
-------------------------------------------------

This happens for all recipients (even bogus addresses).

It appears that the only possible solutions are: 1) get a new ISP that will assign me a static IP address so I can send mail; or 2) get PZ to whitelist my comcast subnet (I wouldn't expect that)

Thanks for working with me on this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4 (permalink))
edwurster
green side up, please!
edwurster will become famous soon enoughedwurster will become famous soon enough
 
edwurster's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 660
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Rep Power: 69
07-27-2004, 02:33 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by labrat
Thanks for asking for some clarification (I've been trying to get Comcast to understand what the problem is, but since I can't get past anyone who begins every sentence with "click on start...", I haven't gotten very far).

I have my regular comcast user email account which works fine. However, that is the only account that I can send from anymore. The other email accounts are all hosted on my domains on a PZ server.

I have outlook confgured to send outgoing mail directly to the smtp server associated with that email account (user@comcast.net goes to mail.comcast.net, and user@hosted-at-PZ.com goes to mail.hosted-at-PZ.com).

Previously, everythuing worked fine (for over a year now!). However, in the last few days, a bunch of blacklist services (coordinated at www.njabl.org) added the subnets that comcast uses where I live. Since then, user@comcast.net sends fine, but all my user@hosted-at-PZ.com sends are immediately returned with an error message:
---------------------------------
Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.
Subject: [subject]
Sent: 7/26/2004 10:38
The following recipient(s) could not be reached:
'[recipient]' on 7/26/2004 10:38
550 X-RBL-Warning: [my comcast-assigned IP] is blocked by combined.njabl.org
-------------------------------------------------

This happens for all recipients (even bogus addresses).

It appears that the only possible solutions are: 1) get a new ISP that will assign me a static IP address so I can send mail; or 2) get PZ to whitelist my comcast subnet (I wouldn't expect that)

Thanks for working with me on this.
Try changing the outgoing mail server in outlook? IOW, use smtp.comcast.net for outgoing.

I think the democrats are working on this problem as we speak.


Ed Wurster - sacts92 (old root10)

...CPANEL Docs
......P-Z Server Status
  Send a message via AIM to edwurster  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5 (permalink))
TechWeasel
Registered User
TechWeasel will become famous soon enough
 
TechWeasel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Rep Power: 44
07-27-2004, 07:47 PM

Yup, I second what Ed said (as per usual). Just set up your PZ mail accounts to use the comcase outgoing server and everything should work fine.

It's not likely comcast is blacklisted (or your comcast e-mail would bounce as well) just that they're cross checking mail from comcast ips but not comcast.net headers.

As an aside, even if comcast were to be completely blacklisted, a PZ whitelist wouldn't help you as your original IP remains part of the message header and it would be blocked regardless.


Brad

Deadenddays.com
The Internet's Premiere Weekly Romantic Zombie Soap Opera Comedy Video Series Thing.

Click here to visit Page-Zone's Support Helpdesk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6 (permalink))
labrat
Registered User
labrat is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2003
Rep Power: 0
07-27-2004, 10:02 PM

You guys are GREAT! I reconfigured Outlook as you suggested. I never knew you could use a different outgoing smtp server. Guess I'm not a spammer :-)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7 (permalink))
edwurster
green side up, please!
edwurster will become famous soon enoughedwurster will become famous soon enough
 
edwurster's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 660
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Voorhees, NJ
Rep Power: 69
07-27-2004, 11:01 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by TechWeasel
Yup, I second what Ed said (as per usual). Just set up your PZ mail accounts to use the comcase outgoing server and everything should work fine.

It's not likely comcast is blacklisted (or your comcast e-mail would bounce as well) just that they're cross checking mail from comcast ips but not comcast.net headers.

As an aside, even if comcast were to be completely blacklisted, a PZ whitelist wouldn't help you as your original IP remains part of the message header and it would be blocked regardless.
Is P-Z or Comcast using njabl.org? Or is it the recipient's ISP? I don't understand the specifics of what happened to labrat.


Ed Wurster - sacts92 (old root10)

...CPANEL Docs
......P-Z Server Status
  Send a message via AIM to edwurster  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8 (permalink))
labrat
Registered User
labrat is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2003
Rep Power: 0
07-27-2004, 11:46 PM

Per Jim's post to the announcement forum a few days ago, PZ implemented blacklisting on several servers. That coincides with the start of my trouble. I tried sending email from <user1@PZ-hosted-domain.com> to <user2@PZ-hosted-domain.com> (no intervening servers involved except the PZ server). Since the PZ smtp server was the only server involved, I'd assume that it is the PZ server using combined.njabl.org's blacklist.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Live Help



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright © 2002 Page-Zone Web Hosting. All rights reserved.
Smilies provided by Crack's Smilies http://www.mysmilies.com