+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AOL Update???

  1. #1
    CJD
    CJD is offline Registered User CJD is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    30

    AOL Update???

    Any update on the AOL banning Page-zone servers? Last I heard, it was supposed to be taken care of, but I just sent out my newsletter to my subscriber base, and all the AOL addresses came back. I can't send out order confirmations, newsletters, or answer customers questions if they have an AOL address. Is ther something we can do on our end, or do we just have to wait?

    Thanks -

    Mary

  2. #2
    Jim
    Jim is offline Admin Jim will become famous soon enough Jim will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wauseon, Ohio
    Posts
    1,048
    Rep Power
    103
    The reply from them slipped in without being noticed. I was still waiting on a reply, not noticing that it was stalled by an interim question from AOL minutes after we opened a new ticket with them.

    I just sent a followup email to them.

    Justin,
    Sorry the tech that turned this ticket in was overly broad. Every IP isn't a mail server. Below is the list of mail servers blocked at AOL. Not sure why as all have proper reverse DNS, every one of the 15,000 domains we host has an SPF record, host names are all the same transparent WHOIS information on a domain pgzn.com which is also registered until 2015.
    WhoIs Search Results

    We control the C block of IP's and have reverse dns mapped to each of the 256 IP's which also points back to PGZN.COM. But these are the ones with mail servers on them, and are blocked at AOL shown below.

    As a side note we have not had any spam complaints on these IP's ever - except a few false reports from AOL customers who happen to own a domain hosted on our server, and report the spam email that comes in addressed to their domain & forwarded to their AOL account.

    When they do that we receive feedback loop email and inform the customer not to forward incoming spam to their AOL account, then report it as spam. When they don't heed our warning we disable forwarding to AOL on their domain. Oddly most of the problem customers in that regard are on the servers we run which aren't blocked by AOL.


    #Blocked by AOL#
    error code below
    southbend-24 8.9.24.24
    southbend-34 8.9.24.34
    southbend-54 8.9.24.54
    southbend-74 8.9.24.74
    southbend-94 8.9.24.94
    southbend-114 8.9.24.114
    southbend-124 8.9.24.124
    southbend-134 8.9.24.134

    root@southbend-34 [~]# telnet mailin-01.mx.aol.com 25 Trying 64.12.137.184...
    Connected to mailin-01.mx.aol.com (64.12.137.184).
    Escape character is '^]'.
    554- (RTR:BL) http://postmaster.info.aol.com/errors/554rtrbl.html
    554 Connecting IP: 8.9.24.34
    Connection closed by foreign host.



    #NOT blocked by AOL#
    success code below
    southbend-11 8.9.22.11
    southbend-50 8.9.22.50
    southbend-64 8.9.24.64
    southbend-104 8.9.24.104
    sacts-220 38.102.33.220
    sacts-92 38.102.33.92
    sacts-180 38.102.33.180
    page-zone 67.76.156.111

    root@southbend-64 [~]# telnet mailin-01.mx.aol.com 25 Trying 64.12.137.184...
    Connected to mailin-01.mx.aol.com (64.12.137.184).
    Escape character is '^]'.
    220-rly-mb02.mail.aol.com ESMTP mail_relay_in-mb2.7; Wed, 17 Jan 2007 19:59:20 -0500 220-America Online (AOL) and its affiliated companies do not
    220- authorize the use of its proprietary computers and computer
    220- networks to accept, transmit, or distribute unsolicited bulk
    220- e-mail sent from the internet. Effective immediately: AOL
    220- may no longer accept connections from IP addresses which
    220 have no reverse-DNS (PTR record) assigned.
    Connection closed by foreign host.


    Thank You
    Jim Snape
    Page-Zone Web Hosting
    http://www.page-zone.com

    -----Original Message-----
    From: AOL Postmaster [mailto:justin@postmaster.aol.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, January 09, 2007 12:00 PM
    To: mail@page-zone.com
    C c: justin@postmaster.aol.com
    Subject: AOL RTR:BL Ticket #1327374

    Hello,

    I am having trouble locating a block on the ip(s) you gave us (8.9.24.[0-255]). I need to know which of your IPs you are having issues with. We do not absorb any mail, if we are blocking you we will issue you a error code. Please perform a manual telnet from your mail server and email me the full transcript.


    Thank you,
    Justin
    AOL Postmaster
    --

    Jim
    Page-Zone
    --

  3. #3
    CJD
    CJD is offline Registered User CJD is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    30
    Hi Jim -

    Thanks for the reply and all your help in this matter. It's frustrating when approx. 1/4 of my mailing list gets returned. Do they give you any kind of timeline as to when this will be resolved?

    Thanks

    Mary

  4. #4
    Sailmariner is offline Registered User Sailmariner is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    20
    Rep Power
    48
    If I read Jim's message correctly, South Bend 50 theoretically isn't being blocked and has not been brought up as a problem with AOL. Yet, all of my mailing lists are on South Bend 50 and they are all being blocked by AOL.

  5. #5
    Jim
    Jim is offline Admin Jim will become famous soon enough Jim will become famous soon enough
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wauseon, Ohio
    Posts
    1,048
    Rep Power
    103
    This was the reply as of 10:00AM this morning. No explanation for the block, just that it would be unblocked.

    you should be unblocked within 24 business hours.

    -------
    Justin

    AOL Postmaster
    24 business hours?
    --

    Jim
    Page-Zone
    --

  6. #6
    bchancellor is offline Registered User bchancellor is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Any update to when southbend 124 will be unblocked? I'm also getting errors from att.net saying the ip is blocked for abuse?!?

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Fantastico Update of Mambo
    By edwurster in forum CPanel Control Panel
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-26-2007, 05:07 AM
  2. phpBB security update
    By cmyksteve in forum General Questions and Comments
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 12-05-2006, 07:56 AM
  3. php security update
    By Sheila in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-20-2004, 11:04 AM
  4. how long for DNS update?
    By momgyver in forum General Questions and Comments
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 09:59 AM
  5. fantastico update
    By daver in forum General Questions and Comments
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2003, 08:30 AM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

AOL 逆引き 解決

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Automatic Translations (Powered by Powered by Google):
Albanian Arabic Belarusian Bulgarian Catalan Chinese Croatian Czech Danish Dutch English Estonian Filipino Finnish French Galician German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Icelandic Indonesian Irish Italian Japanese Korean Latvian Lithuanian Maltese Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Serbian Slovak Slovenian Spanish Swahili Swedish Taiwanese Thai Turkish Ukrainian Vietnamese Welsh Yiddish